Scott Bates (center), principal of Summit Academy Community School for Alternative Learners – Lorain, named a Community School of Quality by the Ohio Department of Education, is pictured with students (from l-r) Jessica Groselj, Brooklyn Simko, Kaylana Fox and Abigail Conley in the school library.

Summit Academy Community School for Alternative Learners – Lorain was awarded nearly $148,000 by the Ohio Department of Education for its designation as a Community School of Quality. The school serves just under 80 pupils in grades kindergarten through fifth, nearly 75 percent of whom are students with disabilities, such as autism and ADHD.

Principal Scott Bates says the designation brings light to the school’s high standards for excellence.

“Receiving this recognition credits the hard work by our school staff and board to nurture and support our students’ academic strides and successes,” Bates says.

Of Ohio’s 313 community schools, “Summit Lorain Elementary,” as the school is commonly known, was one of only 48 selected as a Community School of Quality.

To receive the designation, Summit Lorain Elementary received a higher Performance Index score – than the district in which the school is located – on its two most recent Ohio School Report Cards. The school met other criteria, including having a student enrollment comprised of at least 50 percent of pupils who are economically disadvantaged and earning an A (or B, Lorain Elementary’s grade) for the Value-Added Progress dimension on its most recent State Report Card. In addition, school sponsor Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West received an “exemplary” rating on its most recent evaluation conducted under section 3314.06 of the Revised Code.

Summit Lorain Elementary administrators, staff and board members are discussing fund allocation options that will profoundly benefit the school’s students.

For more information about the Quality Community School Support Fund, which was established by House Bill 166 (FY20-FY21 state budget bill) to provide additional funding to every community school designated as a Community School of Quality, visit .