Summit Academy Transition High School – Cincinnati

Learning Recovery & Extended Learning Plan

Office Hours 7:30 am – 3:30 pm

School Hours 7:40 am – 2:02 pm  

2018-2019 Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West’s Community Schools Center Sponsor Annual Report

ESC of Lake Erie West Community Schools Center Annual Report 2018-20192

http://www.esclakeeriewest.org/CommunitySchools.aspx

Please see the new updated student handbook below.

241 2A3 STUDENT HANDBOOK rev 8-2017

2019-2020 Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West’s Community Schools Center Sponsor Annual Report

http://www.esclakeeriewest.org/CommunitySchools.aspx

Summit Academy Transition High School – Cincinnati’s amazing 4Hands Program, founded and directed by “Music Man” Christopher Smith, was spotlighted in a moving Spectrum 1 News human interest story:

The Music Man Motivates and Inspires His Students

 

Dear Parent,
Great news! Our school has partnered with Smile Programs…the mobile dentists to offer in-school dental care on 10/18/2021. Sign up your child today at www.myschooldentist.com or pick up a packet in the main office.
Even better, dental care is usually at no cost to you. All insurance is accepted including
Medicaid and CHIP. For those without insurance, a low cost self-pay option is available.
Convenient and comfortable
Our in-school dental program saves you time and provides a safe and comfortable
place for your child to receive gentle dental care from licensed local professionals.
Dental care includes a complete dental exam, x-rays, cleaning, fluoride and sealants
when necessary, and in some cases, restorative care such as fillings.
Dental care for a healthy life
Children who see a dentist regularly may have fewer health issues like:
Early tooth loss caused by dental decay
Gum disease
Heart disease
Impaired speech development
Help keep your child healthy, in school and learning.
Simply go to www.myschooldentist.com.

Important Dates

September 6, 2021 – No School – Labor Day
September 24, 2021 – No School – Teacher Work Day
October 14, 2021 – End of First Quarter
October 15, 2021 – No School – Teacher Work Day
October 18, 2021 – Mobile Dentist
October 20, 2021 – Picture Day
October 22, 2021 – No School – Teacher Work Day
October 29, 2021 – A/B Honor Roll Celebration
October 29, 2021 – Fall Festival (2:15 pm – 4:15 pm)

Please check us out on Facebook for up to date school information as well as our website.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/SA.CincinnatiHighSchool/

 After School Activities

Builder Club

Basketball

Music

Journalism Club

Student Council

Homework Club

 

 

Attendance Policy

 Full School Day – 8:00 am – 2:02 pm

In order to be credited with a full school day, students must arrive on time and be present until 2:02 pm.

Tardiness

Students arriving between 8:00 am – 8:30 am will be marked tardy.

Partial School Day

Students arriving after 8:30 am

Truancy

Consecutive Hours Hours per month Hours per year
Habitual Truancy 30 without legitimate  excuse / AIT 42 without legitimate  excuse / AIT 72 without legitimate  excuse / AIT
Excessive Absences 38 with or without legitimate excuse 65 with or without legitimate excuse
Chronic Absenteeism 10% with or without legitimate excuse

Summit Academy Schools are tuition-free, non-profit community schools for alternative learners. They are specifically designed for students with AD/HD, Autism Spectrum Disorders, and related challenges.

Summit Academy’s proven therapeutic academic program is designed to fulfill the academic, social, emotional, and physical requirements of students with special needs. The school is committed to providing an extraordinary, safe, and nurturing learning environment where students will reach their full potential.

Summit Academy Transitional High School serves children in 9th grade through 12th grade. We have small class sizes with a maximum of 18 students per classroom. Each classroom is staffed with a Highly Qualified Teacher and an Intervention Specialist

 

Staff Emails

Staff                                 Position                                           Emails
Stephen Geresy               Principal                                          stephen.geresy@summitacademies.org
Amie Burgess                  Admin Assistant / School Nurse     amie.burgess@summitacademies.org
Andrea May                    IEP Coordinator                               andrea.may@summitacademies.org
Laurie Dunning               Behavior Specialist                          laurie.dunning@summitacademies.org
Michelle Carlsen             SPED Assistant                                michelle.carlsen@summitacademies.org
James Reeb                    History Teacher                                james.reeb@summitacademies.org
William Jennings            English Teacher                               william.jennings@summitacademies.org
Tre Davis                Science Teacher / Intervention Specialist  tre.davis@summitacademies.org
James Smith                   Math Teacher                                   james.smith@summitacademies.org
Ashley Jenkins                Social Skills Teacher                         ashley.jenkins@summitacademies.org
Christopher Smith          Music Teacher                                  christopher.smith@summitacademies.org
Catherine Danner           Career Readiness Teacher                catherine.danner@summitacademies.org
Carly Weir     Reading Plus Teacher / Intervention Specialist  carly.weir@summitacademies.org
Mrs. Beckham        Speech Language Pathologist               jeanette.beckham@summitacademies.org
Ms. Christenson             Occupational Therapist               christina.christenson@summitacademies.org

 

 

Board Meetings 2021 -2022

MEETING DATE MEETING LOCATION TIME
July 20, 2021(Due to Shutdown) 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
September 7, 2021 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.
November 2, 2021 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
January 4, 2022 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.
March 1, 2022 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
May 3, 2022 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.