Summit Academy Transition High School – Cincinnati

Cincinnati THS School Calendar

Learning Recovery & Extended Learning Plan

Office Hours 7:30 am – 3:30 pm

School Hours 7:40 am – 2:20 pm  

2018-2019 Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West’s Community Schools Center Sponsor Annual Report

ESC of Lake Erie West Community Schools Center Annual Report 2018-20192

http://www.esclakeeriewest.org/CommunitySchools.aspx

Please see the new updated student handbook below.

241 2A3 STUDENT HANDBOOK rev 8-2017

2019-2020 Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West’s Community Schools Center Sponsor Annual Report

http://www.esclakeeriewest.org/CommunitySchools.aspx

Summit Academy Transition High School – Cincinnati’s amazing 4Hands Program, founded and directed by “Music Man” Christopher Smith, was spotlighted in a moving Spectrum 1 News human interest story:

The Music Man Motivates and Inspires His Students

 

Summit parents and guardians. 

After two years since our last concert, our students will present their first concert since the beginning of the pandemic. Our winter concert will happen on Friday, December 17th at 12:30 pm in our school gymnasium. This concert will be during school so all students can attend and perform. Students are expected to dress up. For families who need assistance with dress clothes please text Mr. Smith at 513 549 3828. Be aware that the concert is on the last day of school before winter break. Please make sure your student is in attendance. This performance is mandatory. After the concert is over, all parents and Guardians that attended the concertmate pick up their students after they’ve cleaned up. Thank you so much and I hope to see you there.

Important Dates

December 17, 2021 – Winter Concert – 12:30 pm – In the Gym
December 17, 2021 – End of 2nd Quarter
December 20, 2021 – January 3, 2022 Winter Break
January 14, 2022 – No School – Teacher Work Day
January 17, 2022 – No School – Martin Luther King Day

February 4, 2022 – Midterms

February 9, 2022 – Parent/ Teacher Conferences – In-Person 3:00 pm – 7:00 pm

February 10, 2022 – Parent / Teacher Conferences – Zoom – 3:30 pm – 7:50 pm

February 11, 2022 – No School

February 18, 2022 – No School – Teacher Work Day

February 21, 2022 – No School – President’s Day

Please check us out on Facebook for up to date school information as well as our website.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/SA.CincinnatiHighSchool/

 After School Activities

Builder Club

Monday – 2:30 pm – 3:20 pm

Builders Club Permission Slip

Basketball

Monday / Wednesday – 2:30 pm – 3:20 pm

Basketball Permission Slip

Music

Band – Monday 2:30 pm – 3:20 pm

Band Club Permission Slip

Vocal Lessons – Tuesday/Friday 2:30 pm – 3:20 pm

Voice Lesson Club Permission Slip

Choirs – Wednesday 2:30 pm – 3:20 pm

Choir Club Permission Slip

Journalism Club

Student Council

Tutoring Club

Wednesday – 2:30 pm – 3:20 pm

Tutoring Permission Slip

 

 

Attendance Policy

 Full School Day – 8:00 am – 2:20 pm

In order to be credited with a full school day, students must arrive on time and be present until 2:20 pm.

Tardiness

Students arriving between 8:00 am – 8:30 am will be marked tardy.

Partial School Day

Students arriving after 8:30 am

Truancy

Consecutive Hours Hours per month Hours per year
Habitual Truancy 30 without legitimate  excuse / AIT 42 without legitimate  excuse / AIT 72 without legitimate  excuse / AIT
Excessive Absences 38 with or without legitimate excuse 65 with or without legitimate excuse
Chronic Absenteeism 10% with or without legitimate excuse

Summit Academy Schools are tuition-free, non-profit community schools for alternative learners. They are specifically designed for students with AD/HD, Autism Spectrum Disorders, and related challenges.

Summit Academy’s proven therapeutic academic program is designed to fulfill the academic, social, emotional, and physical requirements of students with special needs. The school is committed to providing an extraordinary, safe, and nurturing learning environment where students will reach their full potential.

Summit Academy Transitional High School serves children in 9th grade through 12th grade. We have small class sizes with a maximum of 18 students per classroom. Each classroom is staffed with a Highly Qualified Teacher and an Intervention Specialist

 

Staff Emails

Staff                                 Position                                           Emails
Stephen Geresy               Principal                                          stephen.geresy@summitacademies.org
Amie Burgess                  Admin Assistant / School Nurse     amie.burgess@summitacademies.org
Andrea May                    IEP Coordinator                               andrea.may@summitacademies.org
Laurie Dunning               Behavior Specialist                          laurie.dunning@summitacademies.org
Michelle Carlsen             SPED Assistant                                michelle.carlsen@summitacademies.org
James Reeb                    History Teacher                                james.reeb@summitacademies.org
William Jennings            English Teacher                               william.jennings@summitacademies.org
Tre Davis                Science Teacher / Intervention Specialist  tre.davis@summitacademies.org
James Smith                   Math Teacher                                   james.smith@summitacademies.org
Ashley Jenkins                Social Skills Teacher                         ashley.jenkins@summitacademies.org
Christopher Smith          Music Teacher                                  christopher.smith@summitacademies.org
Catherine Danner           Career Readiness Teacher                catherine.danner@summitacademies.org
Carly Weir     Reading Plus Teacher / Intervention Specialist  carly.weir@summitacademies.org
Mrs. Beckham        Speech Language Pathologist               jeanette.beckham@summitacademies.org
Ms. Christenson             Occupational Therapist               christina.christenson@summitacademies.org

 

 

Board Meetings 2021 -2022

MEETING DATE MEETING LOCATION TIME
July 20, 2021(Due to Shutdown) 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
September 7, 2021 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.
November 2, 2021 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
January 4, 2022 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.
March 1, 2022 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
May 3, 2022 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.