Summit Academy Transition High School – Cincinnati

Cincinnati THS School Calendar

 

Learning Recovery & Extended Learning Plan

Office Hours 7:30 am – 3:30 pm

School Hours 7:40 am – 2:20 pm  

2018-2019 Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West’s Community Schools Center Sponsor Annual Report

ESC of Lake Erie West Community Schools Center Annual Report 2018-20192

http://www.esclakeeriewest.org/CommunitySchools.aspx

Please see the new updated student handbook below.

241 2A3 STUDENT HANDBOOK rev 8-2017

2019-2020 Educational Service Center of Lake Erie West’s Community Schools Center Sponsor Annual Report

http://www.esclakeeriewest.org/CommunitySchools.aspx

Summit Academy Transition High School – Cincinnati’s amazing 4Hands Program, founded and directed by “Music Man” Christopher Smith, was spotlighted in a moving Spectrum 1 News human interest story:

The Music Man Motivates and Inspires His Students

It is already time to share graduation information! Your seniors last days of high school are coming close and although we are very proud of their accomplishments, we will miss them greatly. The following are some details to make note of.

  1. Senior Pictures will be on Tuesday, May 10, 2022, at 8:30 am. (Rain date Thursday, May 12, 2022)
  2. Caps and Gowns are provided by Summit Academy and will be sent home on Tuesday, May 10, 2022.
  3. Final exams are May 18, 19, 20, 2022 although, if a senior has an A in the class, they are exempt from the exam. (Seniors must still attend school)
  4. Senior Trip May 19, 2022 (information coming home soon).
  5. Last day for seniors to turn in all work is May 20, 2022
  6. Seniors will have graduation rehearsal May 23, 2022, please meet at the Summit Academy High School at 12:30 pm
  7. Graduation: Tuesday, May 24, 2022 – 6pm – Graduates need to arrive at 5:30pm and go to the school. All guests will go to the church. Ceremony at St. Clare Parish, 1443 Cedar Ave, Cincinnati Ohio 45224

 

When: Friday, May 20, 2022

Where: School Gym

Who is Invited: Families and Friends 

 

Come celebrate the outstanding achievements of our students.

When: May 25, 2022, at 1:00 pm

Where: School Gym

Who is invited: Students Family

 

It’s hard to believe but the year is ending, and it is time for our,

“End of the Year Family Picnic”

Summit Academy Cincinnati THS families are invited to attend our end of the year family picnic. Students must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.  We will have the main dish, sides, and cold water on ice. There will also be games and music for a fun filled day. Please join us as we celebrate the beginning of summer vacation!!

Where: Sharon Woods (Red Tail and Yellowwood Shelters)

When: May 26, 2022

Time: 10:30 am – 1:30 pm

What to Bring: Fruit or dessert to share 

Please fill out the information on the next page and return to school no later than

Friday, May 20, 2022

End of Year Picnic Permission Slip

Important Dates

May 5, 2022 – Seniors Home Depot Trip

May 10, 2022 – Senior Pictures – 8:30 am

May 13, 2022 – No School – In-Service Day

May 19, 2022 – Senior Trip – Kings Island

May 20, 2022 – Music Concert – 11:00 pm

May 23, 2022 – Graduation Rehearsal – 12:00 pm

May 24, 2022 – Graduation – 6:00 pm

May 25, 2022 – Award Ceremony – 1:00 pm

May 26, 2022 – Las Day of School/ End of year Family Picnic

Please check us out on Facebook for up to date school information as well as our website.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/SA.CincinnatiHighSchool/

 

 

Attendance Policy

 Full School Day – 8:00 am – 2:20 pm

In order to be credited with a full school day, students must arrive on time and be present until 2:20 pm.

Tardiness

Students arriving between 8:00 am – 8:30 am will be marked tardy.

Partial School Day

Students arriving after 8:30 am

Truancy

Consecutive Hours Hours per month Hours per year
Habitual Truancy 30 without legitimate  excuse / AIT 42 without legitimate  excuse / AIT 72 without legitimate  excuse / AIT
Excessive Absences 38 with or without legitimate excuse 65 with or without legitimate excuse
Chronic Absenteeism 10% with or without legitimate excuse

Summit Academy Schools are tuition-free, non-profit community schools for alternative learners. They are specifically designed for students with AD/HD, Autism Spectrum Disorders, and related challenges.

Summit Academy’s proven therapeutic academic program is designed to fulfill the academic, social, emotional, and physical requirements of students with special needs. The school is committed to providing an extraordinary, safe, and nurturing learning environment where students will reach their full potential.

Summit Academy Transitional High School serves children in 9th grade through 12th grade. We have small class sizes with a maximum of 18 students per classroom. Each classroom is staffed with a Highly Qualified Teacher and an Intervention Specialist

 

Staff Emails

Staff                                 Position                                           Emails
Stephen Geresy               Principal                                          stephen.geresy@summitacademies.org
Amie Burgess                  Admin Assistant / School Nurse     amie.burgess@summitacademies.org
Andrea May                    IEP Coordinator                               andrea.may@summitacademies.org
Laurie Dunning               Behavior Specialist                          laurie.dunning@summitacademies.org
Michelle Carlsen             SPED Assistant                                michelle.carlsen@summitacademies.org
James Reeb                    History Teacher                                james.reeb@summitacademies.org
William Jennings            English Teacher                               william.jennings@summitacademies.org
Tre Davis                Science Teacher / Intervention Specialist  tre.davis@summitacademies.org
James Smith                   Math Teacher                                   james.smith@summitacademies.org
Ashley Jenkins                Social Skills Teacher                         ashley.jenkins@summitacademies.org
Christopher Smith          Music Teacher                                  christopher.smith@summitacademies.org
Catherine Danner           Career Readiness Teacher                catherine.danner@summitacademies.org
Carly Weir     Reading Plus Teacher / Intervention Specialist  carly.weir@summitacademies.org
Mrs. Beckham        Speech Language Pathologist               jeanette.beckham@summitacademies.org
Mrs. Jones            Intervention Specialist                            sharon.jones@summitacademies.org

Mrs. Riley             Instructional Aide                                   christina.riley@summitacademies.org

 

 

 

Board Meetings 2021 -2022

MEETING DATE MEETING LOCATION TIME
July 20, 2021(Due to Shutdown) 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
September 7, 2021 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.
November 2, 2021 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
January 4, 2022 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.
March 1, 2022 1660 Sternblock Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45237 4:00 p.m.
May 3, 2022 5800 Salvia Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45224 4:00 p.m.